Ajantha Mendis Returns to Sri Lankan T20 World Cup Squad – 23rd August

Today, Sri Lanka have announced their final squad of 15 for the upcoming T20 World Cup at home where they will have a good chance of winning the tournament with the home advantage. Ajantha Mendis has not feature in a Sri Lankan match since January this year because he suffered a back injury. The mystery man has been very good in the Sri Lankan Premier League and will back up his selection in this T20 World Cup squad.

Mendis has played 4 matches for the Nagenahira Nagas and he has taken 9 wickets for the team that has lead to his team being placed in 3rd place. Two surprises in the squad is that their are 2 uncapped player, those being Dilshan Munaweera who has scored 100 runs in the SLPL and Akila Dhanajaya who is very much an unknown but has featured in the SLPL.

Kumar Sangakkara has been included in the 15 man squad but that is subject to change if his finger injury hasn’t recovered by the start of the tournament. Nuwan Kulesakera is another selection that could change because he is carrying a groin injury at the moment but will be a huge asset if he recovers in time. A huge surprise includes Upul Tharanga who hasn’t been selected for the tournament despite playing in the last T20 international and scoring 125 runs so far in the SLPL.

Sri Lanka squad: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Dilshan Munaweera, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Shaminda Eranga, Akila Dhanajaya.


Leave a Comment:

Comments are closed.