England vs India T20 World Cup Match 10 Preview – 23rd Sept

In Group A, both England and India have played Afghanistan and haven’t looked like losing but now the current T20 champions play the favourites who are India. India didn’t look as convincing against Afghanistan as they would of liked but England’s thumping 116 run win over Afghanistan sends a big message to the other teams. Luke Wright had another fantastic match batting at 3 and was unlucky not to get his hundred being 99 not out. Ravi Ashwin had a good game against Afghanistan and he will look to set this tournament on fire with a big performance against England.


Match Information :

September 23, Colombo
Starting Time: 1930 Local Time (1400 GMT Time)

Key Contest:

Ravi Ashwin vs Luke Wright

Ravi Ashwin has just started to get into his stride in Sri Lanka, he took a four for against Pakistan and bowled extremely well against Afghanistan taking 2 for 20 and although this match doesn’t count for much Ashwin will be keen to take another bag of wickets. Luke Wright is another player who has found some form in Sri Lanka, he contributed a few cameos in the warm ups and was extremely unlucky not to get his hundred against Afghanistan. Wright is doing a very good job batting at number 3 and there is no doubt that innings was a fluke as he has scored 2 hundreds at domestic level in T20’s.

Team News:

England shouldn’t make any changes to their team but their is a possibility that they may drop Samit Patel and include Tim Bresnan.

England (possible): Craig Kieswetter (wk), 2 Alex Hales, 3 Luke Wright, 4 Eoin Morgan, 5 Jonny Bairstow, 6 Jos Buttler, 7 Samit Patel/Tim Bresnan, 8 Stuart Broad (capt), 9 Graeme Swann, 10 Steven Finn, 11 Jade Dernbach

Dhoni has suggested that the XI will be changed due to the fact that this match won’t really count for anything. Harbhajan Singh or Ashok Dinda could find themselves in the XI as since they have this opportunity to put the fringe players in.

India (possible): 1 Virender Sehwag, 2 Gautam Gambhir, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Suresh Raina, 6 Rohit Sharma, 7 MS Dhoni (capt &wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9 Irfan Pathan, 10 Zaheer Khan, 11 L Balaji/Ashok Dinda/Harbhajan Singh.


Leave a Comment:

Comments are closed.