India vs Australia Highlights | 2nd Test | Day 1

India vs Australia


india vs australia 2nd test
India vs Australia Day 1 Cricket Highlights 2nd Test Sydney 2012. Watch Cricket Highlights of India vs Australia 2nd Test Online on 3rd January, 2012. Australia vs India 2nd Test Highlights 2012. India tour of Australia 2011-12 highlights. Cricket highlights of 2nd Test India vs Australia Day 1.

The year that has just passed by was a strange one for more than billion fans of cricket in India. From the dizzy high of a World Cup win after a 28-year wait to the dark lows of English summer, 2011 was an eventful year that would be etched in the memory of players and fans alike. While India started the year with a gutsy performance at Newlands against South Africa, the denouement came with a tame surrender at Melbourne as Australia sealed the series opening Boxing Day Test with clinical precision.

To be brutally honest, India failed to live-up to the pre-series hype. Billed as the ‘favourites’ due to their vastly experienced and ‘talented’ batting, the meltdown on fourth day was disappointing to say the least. In the end, the ‘G’ was witness to another abject surrender by an Indian team.

So, what went wrong at Melbourne? If one were to look for possible reasons, two spring to the mind without much effort. The first is one quite obvious, batting collapses in both the innings. In addition to the batting horrors, MS Dhoni’s defensive field settings allowed the Australian tail rake up priceless runs. To put things into perspectives, the Australian last four wickets added a total of 211 runs over the two innings when India failed to chase down a target of 292.

More Highlights: India vs Australia Series | Scorecard

Australia Squad: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (Capt), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ryan Harris.

India Squad: MS Dhoni (Capt & wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkye Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Zaheer Khan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Vinay Kumar.

Australia vs India, 2nd Test Match, Day 1
January 3, 2012, India Tour of Australia 2011-12, Sydney Cricket Ground
Umpires: M Erasmus (SA) and I Gould (ENG) Third Umpire: B Oxenford (AUS)
Match Referee: R Madugalle (SL)

India logo India

Support your team!

Australia logo Australia

Support your team!

Be the first
to get the latest
cricket news

Please enter your E-mail address.
Thanks for subscribing!
We will keep you updated.