Williamson leads from the front

New Zealand vs Bangladesh
143/4 (18.0 Ovs)
141/8 (20.0 Ovs)

The Kiwi skipper scored an unbeaten 73 to guide his team to a 6-wicket win over Bangladesh in the first T20I


By Krunal Gandhi, MyCricketHighlights Cricket Writer

1st T20I: New Zealand vs Bangladesh at McLean Park, Napier, Jan 3 - 2017, Cricket Highlights.

Although the formats changed, the result didn’t as New Zealand went on to win the first T20I against Bangladesh by 6 wickets.

The visitors batting failed for the nth number of time on the tour as they managed to score only 141 runs in their 20 overs, which was way below par considering the pitch and the conditions. Electing to bat first after winning the toss, they suffered a blow in the very second over with Matt Henry getting rid of Imrul Kayes for nought. Tamim Iqbal too failed to contribute as he got out after making only 11.

Lockie Ferguson, then, struck twice and got rid of Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar to reduce Bangladesh down to 34/4 at the end of the powerplay. The batting team desperately needed some sort of partnership at this stage and the same was provided by Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah, who added 37 runs for the 5th wicket.

After Shakib’s dismissal, Mahmudullah carried the innings forward and scored a timely half-century to help his team post a decent total of 141. Although it wasn’t a big enough total, considering that they were reeling at 30/4, it was a pretty good comeback from the Bangladeshis.

The chase didn’t start on a good note for the Blackcaps as they lost Neil Broom and Colin Munro early into the innings. While the wickets were falling at one end, Kane Williamson was going strongly at the other end. The Kiwi skipper rotated the strike beautifully and kept the scoreboard ticking by taking the ones and twos. He finally found a partner, in the form of Colin de Grandhomme (41*), with whom he stitched a match-winning partnership of 81 runs to take his team over the finishing line.

Williamson was adjudged the Man of the Match for his knock of 73, which comprised of 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Williamson leads from the front | New Zealand vs Bangladesh | 1st T20I | Jan 3 - 20170001

New Zealand logo New Zealand

Support your team!
  1. Kane Williamson (c)
  2. Neil Broom
  3. Colin Munro
  4. Corey Anderson
  5. Tom Bruce
  6. Colin de Grandhomme
  7. Luke Ronchi (wk)
  8. Mitchell Santner
  9. Ben Wheeler
  10. Matt Henry
  11. Lockie Ferguson

Bangladesh logo Bangladesh

Support your team!
  1. Tamim Iqbal
  2. Imrul Kayes
  3. Soumya Sarkar
  4. Sabbir Rahman
  5. Mahmudullah
  6. Shakib Al Hasan
  7. Nurul Hasan (wk)
  8. Mosaddek Hossain Saikat
  9. Mashrafe Mortaza (c)
  10. Rubel Hossain
  11. Mustafizur Rahman

More latest highlights

More latest highlights »

Be the first
to get the latest
cricket news

Please enter your E-mail address.
Thanks for subscribing!
We will keep you updated.